It was all going so well.

There was some unfinished business from 2013. The usual few friends and I had planned to try riding the two Yorkshire stages of 2014’s Tour de France in October but a poor forecast had changed that. Nick had taken advantage of a hole in the weather which was located over Skye and he and his son had a great time on the Cuillin Ridge on the same weekend Finlay Wild (no relation to Nick) had broken the record for the traverse.

The TdF had been planned again for a weekend in April. My sister-in-law was getting married – yay! On the weekend of the Old County Tops fell race – boo! However, this clash meant I could do the Fred Whitton sportive in the Lake District which is always the week before the OCTs. Also, the Jura Fell Race, which is reckoned to be a classic, is the week after the OCts which is a reason I’ve never considered doing it – I could do that too.

So a largely cycling start to the year (I was still riding at least 3 miles daily to  see if I could) with some running as usual. Complex logistics in place for the TdF weekend and for me to get to the Jura and back to Castle Douglas to join the rest of the family camping. Then I discovered that skateboards (or ripstiks) have an age limit…….

WP_20140415_002

Fractured distal radius. Surgery to fix it with a K wire. 7 weeks off work. Bye bye TdF, Fred and Jura. Me being a pain in the neck being unable to help with transport for the wedding or any of Harry’s sailing events or Sam’s hockey matches, or ,or ……

I had some lovely walks. I did lots of online CPD. I determined not to be grumpy and bored. I researched and bought a van 🙂

Leave a Reply

