All good training

C2C in 2 weeks so I’d earmarked this saturday for a big ride, maybe even the Northern Rock Cyclone. In the end I avoided the roads with thousands of other cyclists on and instead headed south and early.

The first two hours seemed to be all uphill then I joined the C2C above Stanhope and headed West. It soon became clear why east to west is not recommended – steady inclines followed by short, steep descents work much better the other way, especially when the prevailing wind is prevailing. The effect was to reduce my speed and with it my enthusiasm for a massive mileage – I wanted to go to the Hadrian Wall Show too.

So in the end settled for 70 miles with 8900ft of climbing. Not a bad leg stretcher and quite comfortable.

Leave a Reply

